Right Upper Quadrant Pain and Exercise

Hi Everyone,

For those of you that regularly exercise, have you ever noticed increased right upper qudrant pain with the exercise?

Sometimes I get significant discomfort brought on by exercise, both cardio and weights. This past week it has been significantly pronounced, and hasn’t gone away, even with taking a break from exercise.

I guess I am just trying to determine if anyone else experiences this so I can determine if its the exercise possibly causing this, or whether I am just having a PSC flair up, and the exercise is coincidence.

Fyi, I have been working out for the past 3 months, give or take, and while there has always been a little discomfort at times, the intensity over the past week has sharply increased.

My liver enzymes have spiked as well during this time. Interestingly, I just was just reading about potential reactions to anethesia, and I just had a colonoscopy approx. 30 days ago.

Just trying to make sense out of all of this. I would really appreciate any comments or experiences you can share.

Thanks.

Steve,
Thanks for your post. I’m very glad to hear that you are maintaining a good exercise regimen. That is so very important with PSC and especially as things advance you need to keep your core strength in good shape to be able to endure a possible transplant one day. Keep up the good work.
I think your right upper quadrant pain would more likely be a PSC issue. What was your last bilirubin level? When was the last time you had an ERCP procedure? Are you also experiencing significant discomfort in the lower right back area as well? Have you run your MELD score lately? Use this link and that will give us an idea of how things are going along for you. https://optn.transplant.hrsa.gov/resources/allocation-calculators/meld-calculator/

Regards,
Mark
PSC 2011 / Liver Transplant 2015

Mark,

I definitely believe the RUQ pain is PSC related as well.