PSC stories

Hello all,

I just joined the group today and just want to kind of put my story out there and see what everyone else is going through. I was diagnosed with PSC after being blown off by one doctor as just having horrible abdominal pain from fatty liver and being overweight. About 8 months later I ended up spending 4 days in the hospital and many tests, lab draws and bad IV's later was found to have his disease. Once I started studying up on it I was so scared. All I could think was Im never going to get a liver and die or I'm going to get liver cancer and die. This is no way for a 31 year old person to live. I have lost my best friend of 13 years and many others because I can no longer go out and drink and party. I don't get invited to things also because I can't drink,which is very sad and ok at the same time because not only do I work full time I am also a full time student. I try to be strong but a lot of days I miss my old friends and my heart hurts that they are not by my side during a tough time in my life. Anyway, I am lucky I have an amazing partner of 5 years that will stand by me through anything and my family who I can count on for anything. Also a very small group of close friends. I am thankful that I found this group and would like to hear others stories. I hope you are all well and I am thankful for each of you :)

I'm so sorry for your experience, especially that your friends don't want to spend time with you because you can't drink. I've become fond of Fre alcohol removed wine and O'Doul's non-alcoholic beer. It's a bit hard to find in restaraunts, and all the "virgin" cocktails are so high in sugar, it seems, but don't give up. My symptoms are under control now, and I'm looking forward to the day when sick livers can be healed with adult stem cells.

Welcome to a great support group, Carlin31!