Sick today

So I had my MRCP Monday and don’t know anything yet. Since Sunday, I’ve had right upper quadrant pain that is constant. Nothing too bad, just nagging. Today, pain is worse and I’m having a hard time functioning at work. Slightly nauseous and keep having to run to the bathroom. Very fatigued and itchy but I’m too tired to think about it. I’m a nurse who works twelve hour shifts, so I’m stuck here today and tomorrow for twelve hours and I’m not sure how I’m going to make it. :stuck_out_tongue: Never had constant pain before, it was always sharp intermittent pain, very infrequent. Now it’s constant and dull, like a full feeling or something. Desperate to get my MRCP results back to see what the next step is, need relief. Is it normal to be fine then be so sick in just a couple of weeks?

Hi there. So sorry you are having such a rough time this week. With the pain and itching you describe, you could very well have a blockage. Hopefully the MRCP will give a clear view of the problem and they can get in there and fix it soon. I did find that getting in a hot bath, just as hot as you can stand it and just soaking in there on your back for about 15-20 minutes does help. If the over-the-counter remedies are not working for the itching, there are prescription meds that will help. I took Rifampin 300 mg twice a day which eliminated my itching up to 98% of the time. It shouldn’t take them more than 24 hours or so to get the results back. I’d be calling the doctors office tomorrow if you don’t hear back. Hang in there and hopefully they can get you some relief soon.

Mark