Frequency of Cholangitis Attacks

Hi I have had 3 cholangitis attacks in the last 2 months. They have responded to Cipro, but the second had a flare up sending me for IV Antibiotics to the hospital. Any info out there about frequency and what to expect? I also have Crohn’s and no transplant.

I’m no expert, compared to others here. But in my experience there is no predicting when the attacks come on. For me I monitor my temperature pretty closely and anytime I feel bad and have a fever I start cipro on my own at home. Then when things get unmanageable I go to the ER for 3 or 4 days of IV antibiotics. For me this has been 3 times in the last year or so.

In terms of what to expect…I have no idea. I’d love to know too!!! Hopefully others will weigh in.

E

My first was in the winter of 2015. Next was August 2016, Then March 2017 and April 2017. There was some jaundice in between that responded to cipro, but the dates above were when I had ercp’s to unclog a blocked bile duct. Those stand out.

But three in two months shows the curse of psc, that symptoms can arise at anytime, and we have to be ready for the roller coaster ride.

Sorry you are having to deal with this.

My MD once told me that sometimes patients may require a longer course of antibiotics to clear the cholangitis attack. She has had patients who had to take antibiotics for a month or longer.

Best of luck to you!

Hi Old Codger,
Yes they are unpredictable and I have had two attacks while away from home. My hepatologist and I worked out a system. I always star with pain on right side then chills and fever. I have a standing prescription for Cipro and. bring it when I travel. If tenperature goes up to 102 F. I start Cipro and call doctor. Over 103 F I go to ER and will be admitted to hospital for antibiotics. Because PSC I bring a Mayo clinic print-out about PSC abd a letter frim my helatologist.