Ursodiol

I have small duct PSC and have been statrted on Urso. Has anyone had a good or bad experience with Urso?
EAD3

1 Like

I was on urso then got a bad feeling so I stopped without consulting my doctor. A year later I got a new doctor who was happy I stopped and was going to take me off of it. It helps bloodwork look good but recent research shows it hurts more than it helps.

I have been using URSO for the last 8 years - it is working for me. I am essentially asymptomatic (not sure if drug related or is it is just how MY PSC is progressing). All I know is that my liver panels have all come back within the normal range since starting the medication.

There are lots of conflicting views from both patients, doctors, and researches -- my point of view? If it ain't broke don't try to fix it...

Thanks, for that dose of good hope!

EAD3

I agree with Blemmings. I too have had success on ursodiol. I've been on it for two years and not only are my liver functions in the normal range but I'm also symptom free. I know there's controversy surrounding urso making the functions look good but still damaging the liver, however not in my case. I get an MRI every year and ultrasounds every 2 months in between MRIs and results have not shown any worsening. I get blood work done every 2 months and at the same time my doctor checks for tumors and so far so good (I live in Korea where health care is heavily subsidised, there's no wait and doctors are very thorough; I'm very lucky). I also find diet helps keep me feeling well.