Itching and Fatigue

Hi

I'm new on this site.

I was first diagnosed 4 years ago at the age of 17.

Thank God im in the early stages. I've always been very reserved about discussing my illness. But I realized it will help me face reality if I discuss it.

I'm currently taking Urso 3X daily (my doc is actually taking me off it in a few months) Apriso for UC and Cholestyramine as needed for itching but can't down it. I'll throw up first.

I was wondering if anyone can share anything to help my itching and fatigue. Any vitamins or supplements or any other medications. It's very tough being a student (btw i'm studying overseas for this year then coming back to the US to study) and being very tired and itching. Especially since my roommates and friend have no clue that I have PSC. I tell them its just allergies or something!

Thanks

Hi Bernie, my son is 14, and was diagnosed at 12 we are in Perth, Western Australia. He takes 1 x 250mg ursodeoxycholic acid tabs/ 2 x day and this has definitely helped his itching. I'm not sure what your dose is? My son also does not like to talk about his PSC (he also has Crohn's and Autoimmune Hepatitis), but he doesn't mind if I talk about him anon. He takes a multivitamin with antioxidants (Blackmores slow release) to counter any ill effects of his azathioprine, prednisilone and urso and he is also on 1000mg calcium /day plus 1000mg/day vitamin D to help absorb the calcium (must be taken together). This we hope will counter any bone density issues from the steroids. We found splitting his azathioprine in 2 doses stops any nausea. He was taking omega 3 but it was one tab too many for him I think. He also uses Cetaphil face products and sunscreen as they are low allergen and as he is starting puberty this has helped with any rashes that break out (not sure if you get them).These are all recommendations from his doctors. Hope it helps, Rosie

Bernie,